Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A Big Breakfast!

We decided to go out for breakfast. Eggs benedict at a posh hotel was JR's preferred option, but I had a better suggestion - brekkie at Dobbie's! I wanted to get a Gift Voucher to use this week, and so a visit there today was imperative.

Their breakfast is amazing. And so were the queues! Every man and his wife and kids were there. 7 items for £2.99! There was another option of 9 items for £3.99. Very good value. I was stumped when I had to add more items to get to seven (not wanting black pudding, of course) nd asked for toast, but it was included anyway. Good value!

We then had a wander round. I hadn't realised there was an outdoor shop, so we got a couple of small backpacks and JR got a pair of nifty cargo pants with 'articulated knees'. That's what I need!! The knees, not the pants... Of course, I took the opportunity to tell the sales assistant that I was going on safari!

I wanted a bucolic scene today - I've seen loads of lovely buttercup-strewn fields and wildflower meadow blips recently.

We came across a farmer in his field, and millions of seagulls with the Pentlands and brilliant clouds in the background. Perfect. As soon as I got him lined up, he stopped for lunch. The seagulls sat down. While I walked along the verge to get level with the tractor, a police van drew up just ahead. A policewoman got out and came towards me. Jings! Was I not supposed to be walking on the verge? She had stopped to enquire if I was all right! She thought perhaps my car had broken down and I was walking to Penicuik! How's that for community policing!

Any animals I saw refused to co-operate. There was a foal and his mum in a buttercuppy field, but they stayed as far away as possible, and indeed the foal kept on the other side of his mum. These three horses were up on the hill behind them, and they decided to wander off too. There was also a lovely dapple grey horse in a buttercup field, but when I saw the photo on the computer I realised the horse had a great big lumpy growth on his face. I didn't think you'd want to see that...

Also passed a field with a lot of men and model aeroplanes, which I watched for a while. The models were huge, about a metre wingspan. They were going through their paces, and one Tiger Moth type plane would shoot up into the air, then cut the engine and drop down, twirling all the way. Great fun, I imagine.

I'm finding there are limitations with my camera, of course. Things I could do before with my 600D, but not now. I just have to learn to live with that, because it's just so convenient.

Tennis on TV this afternoon. If it's not rained off...

I can't put it on the map because I have no idea where we were.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.