The Way of Colour

By Beachcomber149

Rain spotted sand

I did get Maeve the Deerhound out for her morning walk before the rain arrived, but as the morning wore on the rain started to appear.

Since we are heading off North tomorrow I have been out to the greenhouse and put all of the plants (except the growbag tomatoes) into big plastic trays. I shall put an inch or so of water into the trays this evening, and hopefully that will keep the plants watered while we are away. It seems to work reasonably well as long as we don't get a major heat wave. The plants will be put back on the greenhouse shelves when we get back and allowed to drain or be watered as appropriate. I am a planning sort of a person :-)

Since the forecast was indicating heavy rain Maeve and I got in the car about 10.30am and off we went to the car park at Westhaven beach (all of a mile or so!). Maeve didn't seem keen to get out of the car so I walked down to the waters edge by myself and took some shots of the small fishing boats bobbing energetically at their moorings. The sea is looking a lot different than yesterday, quite grey with lots of white topped waves. Visibility is much reduced but it was still fairly bright even with the rain getting heavier. I came back up to the car to see if Maeve looked like she was interested in a walk (she wasn't) before going along the Fishermen's huts. Every hut was closed and locked and there was no sign of any activity at all. It looked more like midwinter than June! I grabbed a few shots of 'things' and I even took a photo in the same spot as the bright sea view from yesterday, but it is just too depressing to post (it is on the blog). I didn't stay long.

I decided during lunch that some colour was called for in the blip so I have gone for a well worn seaweedy float and coloured rope on the rain spotted sand.

Not quite as heavy rain as expected though so far ... Maeve and have had a short walk. Maeve decided how short it would be ... short!

Quite possibly no internet connection until Wednesday evening!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.