Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Sunrise over Barley

Ate too late last night and suffered for it during the night.  When I saw the clock at 5:30 it triggered the getting up impulse and as is fairly normal, I walked into the spare bedroom to look at the eastern sky.  Funnily enough it didn't look that promising but I still made the effort to dress, go downstairs and feed the cat, then venture out.  I keep reminding myself that you have to give yourself the opportunity to capture good sunrise images and now the sun doesn't come up until after 5:30 am, it's that little bit easier.

The farmer had part harvested a couple of fields of barley and oats, leaving the harvester parked up on some set aside land overnight.  I initially went to a favourite tree but on spying the tell tale signs of neat lines of straw left by the harvester I headed in that direction.  In the end I preferred this shot of the barley in the foreground but I have posted a couple of other images from the morning.

Ps, I don't usually suggest this but please view it large, the white background does not do it justice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.