Summerhall

One of my more literal titles. It's actually three photos of Summerhall taken just as I leaving after having a pint and a natter with Shandonner and others. This, of course, being after seeing a spoken word theatre piece and as I was on my way across town to the, ahem, opera. Yup, opera.

Quick rundown -

The teatime spoken word theatre piece was brilliant, performed by one of my favourites, poet Luke Wright. The venue is in an intimate yet unintimidating one and having Luke spout his verse literally just a couple of feet away from you was certainly pretty enthralling. Huge recommendation, as usual I'll give no spoilers about the content but there's a link to more info on the Summerhall website right here.

Evening entertainment was a foray into the world of opera, an opera part-created by playwright Enda Walsh whose work I've really liked in the past. As one of those festival events that broadens cultural horizons and all that it was certainly an experience, not necessarily one that I'd want to repeat (I'd definitely had enough after the 80 minutes running time), but certainly not unpleasant. And there was a certain perverse enjoyment listening to one of the main characters singing about the kitchen extension he was hoping to have built in his 3-bedroom semi. As well as not over-filling his plate like all the other guests in the restaurant because, "I respect the buffet!!!!!!" Actually, the more I write about it now, the more I think I did like it - can I put it down as 'highly memorable' (?)

And to finish the evening off (sandwiched in between pints in the bar of The Trav obviously) it was the free Harmonium Project on Lothian Road with The Usher Hall taking centre stage. It was wonderful, it really was. I took no photos, but leasko did, check out her page if you want to get a flavour of the, erm, wonder.

Right, that's the cultural round-up completed of a busy latter part of Friday. Typing this up at 3pm on Saturday afternoon, I need a tune!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.