Just a white

Much maligned.  Ignored.  Taken for granted. White butterflies can be just as stunning as their colourful cousins. But I just had to choose this unassuming beauty for today's blip.

"I've only seen Cabbage whites" - or - "there are only whites around" has been a regular cry this summer.  One more day to go of the Big Butterfly Count and it's true that there haven't been the huge numbers of Peacock butterflies we've become used to.  There have been a few Red Admirals and I've a Painted Lady but the flowers full of Small Tortoiseshells have been a rarity.

I have seen very few Ringlets and absolutely NO Small Coppers this year.

I spent a magical morning over at Elford Hall Gardens again - they've nearly finished the Boathouse.  They have plans to make a perch for the local Kingfisher and they're hoping that from a seat inside the building you'll be able to take good photos from close up. I spent a while chatting to one of the guys working there who was telling  me about seeing otters and regularly seeing the kingfisher.

Elford is just charming and heart-warming - if you're local, please don't  miss it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.