Getting in on the act

In spite of the dire weather forecasts, we had splendid sunshine around lunchtime.

I took advantage of this to go to my absolute favourite bit of woodland, Pipe Hall Farm, as I had realised I'd not done any butterfly watching there this year.

No peacocks or small tortoiseshells. No painted ladies, small coppers or red admirals - but loads of meadow browns, gatekeepers, speckled woods and various whites - plus two skippers.

I couldn't fine my favourite blues but as I walked further round the wildflower meadow, I realised that the tiny yellow flowers that they love were in larger numbers in the centre of the field. Five were fluttering around.

As I walked, this chappie was determined to be blipped. I don't usually manage to capture such massive beasties but this one even posed ! My camera settings weren't ideal at the time but I think it gives a flavour of this assertive dragonfly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.