Life In Wales

By KarenC

Happy Birthday Bev!

Today is my friend Bev's birthday and we were 10 ladies that lunched to help her celebrate.

We went to the 1815 restaurant which is close to the Butte du Lion, and therefore quite an appropriate choice in light of the anniversary weekend of the Battle of Waterloo.

The food was fantastic, and the service was excellent.

Normally in Belgium if it's someone's birthday, they will get a candle in their dessert. However, you wouldn't really call it a candle - it's more like a firework and certainly wouldn't be allowed in the UK. But then again Brussels is the capital of the EU, so rules don't matter here lol! Bev didn't want dessert, so I went and asked the waitress if there was anyway they could still do a candle for her. Sure enough she arrived with a candle firework in a small vase with a complementary glass of champagne.

Bev's husband works away in Nigeria for 5 weeks at a time so sadly isn't here for her birthday, but he has bought her a beautiful Bvlgari bracelet, and she wore it today. So of all the photos I took, I chose this - I like the blurred glass of champagne and with the focus on the bracelet.

I've added a photo of the champagne and candle firework to my blipfolio

Bev's Candle & Champagne

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.