Life In Wales

By KarenC

Napoleon

This weekend is the re-enactment of the Battle of Waterloo, you may remember my blip from last Sunday.

So this morning we got up early as I'm working today, and went to Napoleon's last headquarters to see the French bivouacs. It was fantastic, the soldiers together with women and children literally camp in the bivouacs for the whole of the weekend celebrations and you can wander through the camps and watch them living life as it would have been at the time.

There were women cooking breakfast, soldiers preparing their muskets, and we were fortunate enough to see Napoleon with his generals as he was preparing to inspect his troups. It is so realistic and they really do take it seriously.

We were there for about an hour and I took about 300 photos! But I had already decided that today's blip would be one of Napoleon and I thought this was a good natural portrait.

Tonight when I finish work, we're heading to the Allies bivouac (weather permitting) where there's a bbq and evening activities, then tomorrow we're going to watch the actual battle.

Hope you all have a good weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.