Delicate....

....or so it looks, though I suspect it's not in the least bit delicate or it wouldn't grow here! 
I took it on my way over to Lake Drive to see why the road was all blocked off, although I suspected that it was the same bike race that they had here LAST year when they blocked off all the roads, & it was!  Just like last year there were LOTS of angry drivers circling around, trying to get out of the neighborhood---in fact one car and angry driver came flying out of the alley about 10 feet in front of where I was walking & had to be going at least 30 mph, which is totally excessive in an alley where someone could be backing out, or worse yet, children playing-- & there's a steep drop coming off the alley so trying to exit at that speed put him airborne for about 5 feet & he almost landed in the neighbor's yard! Between the squealing tires, the loud crash as he hit the pavement & curb  with the front of his car (which I'm sincerely hoping caused some massive damage to it), the guy who was standing across the street in HIS yard who started screaming at the driver for being a "stupid ass#@# who could have killed someone, & the police officer who was running down the block to see what was happening as the SAH took off with another squeal of the tires, it was the most excitement I've had in ages! I stood & talked to the Policeman for awhile--super nice person-- & I told him that I'd called City Hall LAST year & complained--not that there was a race, but that no one in the neighborhood was notified that all the roads were closed off--which is such an inconvenience when people have places to go. I told him that they should put flyers in peoples' mailboxes in advance of the event, & he told me it was on the website. I looked at him & said "Who on earth would go on this little city's website to check & see if MAYBE some weekend there MIGHT be a bike race where all the roads will be blocked off"?  He said I had a point & he'd "take it to the chief". An annoyance for sure, but it still doesn't excuse the angry obnoxious drivers who lose their tempers & could kill someone! Stupid ass#@#*  .......And Tom's comment when I walked back home & told him about it ?   "It must have been a woman driver".  (May Tom rest in peace!)  :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.