Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Fieldside

Fridays always tend to be quick blip days for me because of the shape of my working day. Skies were good this morning, grey, white, blue and very blowy, so I decided to go back and see what the oilseed rape crops look like now. I stopped in a gateway, quite high up and found this one poppy and a thistle in acres and hills of rape.

Well, you know me, I like it when 3D is on the edge of being 2D and there was the flat crop edge rearing up just inside the gate. And the reason I chose this shot was not just that the twisty stalk make the poppy look like it's going off like a wobbly rocket - or because its petals were tattered by the wind, but because of the light - against that sky the bits of rape and grass and thistle are almost silhouettes, very 2D. like wallpaper, while the flowerhead's filled with light. I like that and the wide grey sky behind.

Sorry, I know I'm having a bit of a flower moment, but if you can't do that at this time of year, when can you? I'll try to find something different for tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.