Staycation!

Hi Blipfriends!  
Dolly here!

Mum decided that just because we can't go away anywhere right now, there's no reason why we can't do a little camping trip!  And so the little tent came out of storage and she put it up in the garden.  I was SO excited!!  I could hardly keep out of the way.  Sometimes I don't like to cooperate with her taking pictures, but this time I was VERY willing to pose for her in front of the tent!  Yea!  We LOVE camping.  No worries that we're actually staying home for now!  We just love sleeping outside!  And mum says that the 'facilities' are much closer than they were at the campsite!

In other news - we had a very nice visit from some friends who normally live in Malawi but are back in the UK for the summer.  They sat around in the garden drinking tea and eating cake (mum just happened to have her favourite chocolate cake available - the recipe that she'd got from the Mr way back in the 80s when visiting him in Zambia). I sat in between on the swing and fell asleep.  Bliss!  ALL summer afternoons should be like this!  

Kitchen update from mum:
For the first time I was a little discouraged today about the lack of progress these last few days.  I had hoped that once the granite was done on Wednesday that there would be a flurry of activity before the weekend to get it done.  I think it was due to some miscommunication between the different workmen on what would be done on what days.  The main builder, who I'm generally happy with, promised me good and ongoing communication on what would happen next, but I think he fell down on that this last week.  If I had understood the issue, I would have pushed a little more earlier in the week.  I'm thankful for my extended summer break as I think at the back of my mind I anticipated that something like this might happen.  I appreciate that these guys are working on more than one project at a time so I'm trying to be relaxed about it and go with the flow as the only real deadline is in my head.  It's been 3 weeks now and I had hoped it wouldn't go on longer than that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.