One Thousand Blips

Hard to believe that this is my thousandth blip as it seems to have gone by in a flash! I've met so many nice people here it really is a wonderful place!

I've had a flick back over those 1000 posts and it's amazing to remember all sorts of little details that would by now be lost if I hadn't blipped them.

I thought I would head out today to try for a special shot to mark the day. Kings Park is one of my favourite destinations and although the weather looked a bit iffy I hoped the rain would hold off!

Unfortunately it didn't. I'd only been there about ten minutes and had walked almost to the Boab tree when down it came! It rained for almost an hour and I took shelter with a lot of people under a big pergola.

When it finally stopped everyone scampered for the carpark but I headed for the boab!

This 750-year-old tree was a gift from the Gija people in the Kimberley. It was transported over 3,200 km, from its original home in Telegraph Creek, Warmun to Perth back in 2008. Since then it has been settling into its new home under the watchful care of the arborists at Kings Park. Lots more about this tree here http://www.abc.net.au/local/stories/2014/09/19/4090908.htm

My extra is a flower that all the tourists were gathered around before the rain. I've never seen it before and don't know the name but it must be an Australian native and it really is stunning!

Here's to the next 1000 blips :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.