Christography

By ChrisGroucutt

The first cut is the deepest

So today I had my very first go at whittling. Mrs G. gave me a whittling knife for our anniversary, (not entirely a random gift, I had been wittering on about whittling for a while).
I had to sort a few precautions before I had a go, (a musician's fingers and razor sharp blades don't go together particularly well), so, armed with some kevlar gloves (cut proof), and a thumb guard, today I gave it a shot.

And Lo and Behold... from whence before there was a stick... afterwards there was slightly less stick. But, in some small way, slightly more than a stick. Philosophically speaking that is.

At some point through my hacking, Mrs G brought her harp out into the garden to do some practice and for a short while there we literally stepped back in time a couple of hundred years. Was actually quite a beautiful moment.

In reality though, my whittling was a rough old attempt, but was much fun, a good focus for the mind. It also turns out that whittling is a great way of filling your garden with woodchips. Not exactly a needed addition, but they're there now.

So tomorrow's blip will almost certainly be my first whittling result. It will either be a masterpiece of carving, or a pile of woodchips. Exciting n'est pas?

C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.