Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Coffee stop

Pretty much a perfect Festival day. Made my way over to St John's Priory way too early for the 1:00 pm concert, so wandered around the general area and reconnoitred a short cut back for later on to bring me to Parliament Street for the next event, in the process finding myself in parts of this great city that were new to me.

The concert was a performance of three of Bach's Suites for solo cello, performed by a young Hungarian who's making a name for himself on the international scene. This was my first time at a concert in this venue, and it was a delight. Afterwards I just had time to get across to the Watergate Theatre for a performance of Wolf-Ferrari's one-act opera "Susanna's Secret" in a fun production by Opera Theatre Company.

After that I toyed with the idea of going back to my hotel and grabbing some rest before venturing out again for a meal with some of the rest of the Music Group gang who are also here. In the end I decided just to do some more exploring and stop for a quick coffee, which is when I used the X20's excellent stealth mode for some street photography. Three of us met for a meal in La Rivista restaurant (very good) and then went on to the main event of the day, and one of the highlights of this year's Fetival programme: a concert by Wiliam Christie and Les Arts Florissants. Bach again, including his Coffee Cantata. A super night.

Four of us ended the night in a little pub close to St Canice's and I made my way back to my hotel shortly after midnight.  Like I said, a perfect Festival day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.