Homeward bound

Heading home from Auckland today, and passing over Nelson Lakes National Park. I could pick out Moss Pass and some of the other parts I'm familiar with.

Aoraki Mount Cook and Mt Tasman were resplendent in the distance. Nelson Lakes marked the edge of the southerly cloud so much of Canterbury was hidden.

It was literally a flying visit to Auckland for me. Several of us from work went up to attend meetings. My part ended at lunch time so I was on a flight home shortly after 2pm. I got home 10+ hours since I left for the airport this morning.

It was short notice and I did try to go yesterday and have a night with Dad. But connecting the dots to get me from his place to where I had to be for work today was too tricky.

I had to grin. The building I was in was built where railway engine work shops once stood in Penrose. I biked past them on my trike, on the other side of the road 50 years on a bid for freedom.

I'm sure Mum wasn't doing much smiling on the day her active 3 year old disappeared but I bet she was smiling with pride today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.