Lavender Fields Forever

Chrisphoto posted a picture of a lavender field in Hitchin last week and as it is only forty minutes away JJ and I went down there this morning.  Pick your own for £4.95 a bag with borrowed scissors.  

It's all the more interesting because the field is on a slope and we were there not long after it opened so there weren't too many people around.  There were hundreds of bees or varying varieties buzzing around the lines of lavender and I began to wish I hadn't worn shorts, but I needn't have worried.  I spotted a beautiful cricket (I think) in amongst the lavender and have added it as an extra. 

There's also a Sunflower field with lots yet to open, but I did pick one for 50p and was advised to strip the leaves and feed it with some lemonade or sugar to make it last longer.

I have made a mental note to go back in early July next year when the wildflower meadow is at its best.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.