Bristol Balloon Fiesta

I went down to this festival to get pictures of the mass morning take-off. I got plenty of photos, but overall it was a bit disappointing and I don't recommend it. The morning departure starts around 6 a.m. (I got there shortly afterwards) and by 8:15 a.m. it's all over.  There is then not a great deal going on until the evening take-off (which was at 9 p.m.), so in effect this is just a fair in a country park for most of the day. I wouldn't go again.

That said, the balloons themselves are really impressive, and there's something very attractive about a massed take-off (see the extra photos). This picture shows a man firing flaming hot gas into the balloon to inflate it to the point where it takes off. You can see it's well on its way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.