Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

The 40 year Gap

It was on a Monday, June 1975, when I was in the middle of doing my 'O' levels in school, that I had a toothache. My mother took me to the local dental clinic where a young female dentist had just started. I was her first patient. My aching left pre-molar was whipped out. These days they'd do everything to save it, probably with root canal treatment. Not back then.

So for 40 years I've had this gap in my teeth, a permanent reminder of that Monday morning. For some reason, over the last year, it's bothered me. I can't stop playing with the gap. On my check up a couple of weeks ago I asked about an implant. My dentist informed me of the options, so I've gone with the 'bridge' option to avoid a bone graft.

Today, I went and spent an uncomfortble half hour in the dentist chair having dental work done to prepare for the bridge to be fitted later this month. The gap will soon be filled after 40 years!

After getting out of the chair I headed for Cardiff Bay to take my mind off the deadened gum and hopefully grab a blipfoto.

The one I've chosen is of a boat coming through the gap in the sea wall defence into the inner harbour. I love the sky above it. The picture is mostly done in camera with the Olympus 'dramatic filter' and a slight tweak in processing.

A fitting tribute to my 40 year gap. I don't think it's vanity. I don't know why it should bother me after all this time. Perhaps you know?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.