First Impressions

I spent a couple of hours this afternoon at the Edinburgh offices of Creative Scotland (for the reason, see here).

I was the Culture Minister who took through the merger of the Scottish Arts Council and Scottish Screen to form the new body, which was not without difficulty.   There were particular problems in securing joint premises, which I insisted had to cost no more than the combined rent of the two offices previously occupied whilst ensuring that there were no additional sums due from giving up those leases. 

Somehow Ewen Brown who was chairing the transition board managed the impossible and arranged  accommodation for the new organisation in the very attractive and central Waverley Gate complex at the East End of Princes St at a price which, he assured me,  fully met my conditions. 

The images of dancers that sit above the reception desk of Creative Scotland  give a dynamic and creative first impression of the organisation, but more important is, I am told, the constant positive welcome that comes from receptionist Jo Donald.   She was certainly at her best today - so thanks ! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.