If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Vapefest Day 2.

The second day at Vapefest  and it was very busy.  However as my main duty was as "Tea Boy" I managed to take time away from the stand and have a walk across to the River Seven which flows beside the site.

There was a good choice for blips, but I settled on this one for a couple of reasons.  First if anyone is better at Ladybirds than I am what is this one.  It doesn't quite match any I can find an illustration of.  I haven't ever seen a Harlequin (well not to know it is one) but if this was a little larger I would think it was a Harlequin.  However the literature says >5mm and I wouldn't have put this one at quite that big, but definitely larger than any other orange Ladybirds I have seen.

The other insect is a female Marmalade Hoverfly (ERpisyrphus balteatus) probably the commonest Hoverfly in the UK.

Any help with the Ladybird would be much appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.