COME ON ENGLAND!

Sweden 2 England 3

Great result. As you can see Tigerlily was quite interested in the match.

Had a busy day today. It started around 10 am when the doorbell rang. I was still in bed so rushed down to answer the door. It was a delivery of 3 large boxes - one containing an activity centre for the cats and 2 containing cat litter which I had ordered online. All 3 were very heavy and the van driver had to carry them in to the hall. Cue me trying to get cats locked into the lounge.

Let the cats out, fed them and decided to go back to bed but couldn't sleep as cats were madly rushing around. In any case the doorbell rang after about 15 mins. It was the postman with a large parcel and a letter which had to be signed for. Managed to sort this out without opening the front door very much.

Decided to stay up and have toast. Doorbell rang again. Meter reader this time. Had to let him in. Still in my dressing gown. Cats came running and the chap had to get past them -- and the 3 large cardboard boxes from earlier. Electric meter is in cupboard under stairs - no problem reading that. However gas meter is in garage so had to lock cats in lounge again as they aren't allowed in garage.

Opened door from kitchen to garage and there was Cookie - poor soul was soaking wet as it was lashing down with rain. He ran into kitchen. Meter man must have thought I was some kind of mad cat woman with a house full of cats and cardboard boxes. After he had left I dried Cookie with a towel and he had a wander in the hall. Sniffing around as he could obviously smell the new cats.

Decided this was as good a time as any for them to meet. They had seen Cookie before as he had sat on the windowsill outside a few times and they had sussed each other out.

So Cookie was in the hall and I let Valentino and Tigerlily out from the lounge. It didn't go well. Tigerlily was frightened and hid. Valentino was very aggressive and Cookie was scared. So I rescued Cookie and let him out into the garage. He was not best pleased. I will just continue to let him into the garage and leave food for him there and he can seek shelter in there if he wants. No more spending all day on my bed. Can't blame Valentino for wanting to be the top male in his own house. Cookie was spoilt with Bobby who was quite placid and didn't kick up too much fuss when Cookie was around.

Finally I had some toast, Bit of time on computer and then had to get ready to go to Newcastle. Would rather have stayed in as it was still raining heavily but I had to put some cash into Neil's bank account so he can pay for a flight home. He has decided to come home next week. He is broke, the weather is bad & he can't get a job so home it is. He looked at flights online and the cost is around £800 - £900 to get back to the UK. He found one which he mentioned to me as he wanted to book it but it was going to take 57 hours with 3 stops on the way. I looked online and managed to find a flight which only had 2 stops, took a shorter time and was around the same price so I think he's going for that one. So this time next week he may be home - or almost home as he will need to get a coach from London to Newcastle.

Newcastle was in a state of readiness and anticipation for the visit of The Olympic Torch. It was due around 6.30pm but as I was finished my shopping/banking by 4pm and it was still chucking it down with rain I decided not to hang around. Watched it on TV later. Bear Grylls with the torch on a zip wire over the Tyne was quite something.

If you are still reading this - Well Done. This blip is turning out to be as long as War and Peace. I have another couple of things to mention but I had better save them till tomorrow.

I would like to thank everyone who commented on my 365th blip yesterday. It hit the Spotlight - great eh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.