Lord Hill's Column

Today I had a lovely time when I met up with friends from near Birmingham. As Telford's half way between the two, we met there and had a delicious meal and a good catch up of news. If I'd taken my camera inside I'd have blipped the yummy rhubarb sundae that I somehow found room for. Mobiles with cameras must be very useful!

I had to collect something from The Shirehall in Shrewsbury on the way back so blipped Lord Hill's Column, the highest Doric column in England at 133 feet. On top is Lord Hill, Wellington's second in command at Waterloo and four lions at the base. Details are in the link. It's occasionally opened to the public to see the view from the the top.

On the way back I got caught up in horrendous traffic jams in all directions as a lorry had overturned and the A5 was closed off. We're not used to traffic jams round here apart from accidents,  road works and cows moving to a different field!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.