Nature Watcher

By NatureWatcher

"That's another fine mess you've got me into!"

Today I had my first trip in a canoe. A member of U3A is a qualified instructor and organised a taster trip in a twin hull bellboat on The Montgomery Canal at Queen's Head near Oswestry. There were about twelve of us (most were first-timers) and two instructors.

As we paddled along, a narrowboat came towards us. We followed instructions and paddled to the right of the canal. Unfortunately not everyone heard the instructor say "Stop paddling" and carried on. As you can see, the people at the front ended up in the foliage!!

It was a great morning with a lot of banter and laughter. I'm sure that I'll feel muscles that I didn't know that I had but I really enjoyed it and hope to have another go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.