*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

223/365: My Great Uncle Walter

11 August 1897 - 25 November 1917

My great uncle Walter was born 118 years ago and I wanted to mark the occasion as he's been in my thoughts a lot today.

20 years ago he didn't even exist to me. 10 years ago he was just a name on my family tree. 5 years ago he was a faded, soon-to be-forgotten, photo in a box full of pictures of forgotten people. And now I feel as though I knew him. I have researched online and through my nana's boxes of letters and memories, and still I sometimes come across something to do with her much loved brother and learn a little more about him.

I did some creative jiggery-pokery with a photo of him for today's blip, I'm not sure if it's really worked but I quite like how it came out. I've added an extra of the original.

Happy Birthday Walter - you'll never be forgotten xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.