I did it!!!!

So...today was the big day, the day I got to stick a needle in a real live person. I've been quite excited by the prospect and looking forward to it, but when we arrived on session today I started to get butterflies. Three of us watched the nurse do a couple then she went on the hunt for a donor with nice, big, juicy veins, "Who would like to have a go?" Well I was in there, I just needed to get the first one over with. 

A very nice man, with a wonderful vein was happy for me to have a go on him...and slap me sides and call me Roger, I DID IT!! Straight into the vein and it was a success...the rest of the team all gave me a round of applause and I felt bloody marvellous! 

I have needled ten people today and I even got to take a blood sample for an iron test too....the donor who had that done said he never felt a thing. After I had done it I walked out and asked one of the DCs, "Do I look taller?" ....because I sure hell stood up as I walked out of that booth! he he he.

The other two girls did brilliantly today and we were so pleased with ourselves. The team have been fantastic and so supportive. I suppose I will feel a bit nervous again tomorrow...but at least I'm up and running now :))

So....you may be wondering what the photo is of....well, these are the caps from the first three needles I did today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.