CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Hay bales near Pentire Head

I went to the local beach to enjoy the sun once it had broken through the clouds, as my knee ligaments are still hurting.  Helena wanted a change and wandered around the cliff path to a small beach accessible only on foot.  

When she returned she fancied a snooze, which I’d already enjoyed, so I headed off to the far end of the bay.  To get there I decided to drive to save my knee, and ended up taking the long road inland to reach the next point.  I found a farm track leading to Pentire Head, the farthest most point of the local stretch of coastline, which gave views northwards towards Tintagel Castle and beyond to Crackington Haven.

I parked beside a farmer’s cattle pen where he seemed to be storing odd bits of ploughing equipment on which a host of crows were perched when I arrived.  They quickly flew off so I followed them over the brow of the hill to the edge of a field, where I came across this view of just harvested hay bales awaiting collection for storage in the barns.

The wind was blowing and thin cloud had rolled in from the sea, diminishing the light as the sun began to set. The forecast isn’t particularly good for the next few days, so the rumoured few hours of sunshine tomorrow will have to be spent at the beach.  We’ll have to become adventurous from then on and start to prowl about Cornwall for places to visit.  Helena is good at researching the options, so I’m sure we will have fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.