Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

The Start of Something New

Tonight we had our first rehearsal with a new cello friend, Janey B. Joan and I have been hoping to get back into ensemble playing, and now with Janey, we have another player who shares our enthusiasm and excitement for exploring all things cello. We have a third Cello Nerd.

We first met Janey several years ago at a cello camp that she sponsored on Hornby Island (Canada). She has since moved to Bellingham and brings with her a treasure trove of knowledge and exciting connections in the cello world.

For starters, Janey introduced us to a beautifully haunting cello trio by Hungarian composer Zoltan Kodaly. Not only did I finally learn to pronounce Kodaly's name correctly tonight (ko-DYE) but I'm newly intrigued by this music that I never would have explored on my own.

It's a match made in heaven - three like-minded cello nerds who will now meet weekly to work up a few songs and continue growing and exploring in new musical directions. I'm looking forward to the journey!

{ the music pictured is the score for the first piece in the YouTube video }

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.