The Lighthouse at Rhue

A day of sunshine and sunny spells.

Apothecary7 had a slight leak in one of her walking shoes yesterday (an older pair she was wearing for the painting course), so first thing we popped down to the outdoor store and each bought a pair of their bargain walking shoes. Apothecary7 wore hers out of the shop, mine are for our next holiday and winter Maeve walking. We were still up at Bridge House Art by 9.15am. Eleanor, the tutor, was just walking to the print studio when we arrived so we had a brief chat then I headed off. Maeve and I went to Rhue. There were sheep below the fence line where we usually walk out to the lighthouse. I decided not to take Maeve out there today since there have been a lot of warnings about high tick levels this year. I took a couple of photos then we drove on to Ardmair.

We sat for a while and enjoyed the breeze, then went for our walk though the caravan park and round to the pier. I took a few photos on the way, one showing Isle Martin which I tend to overlook when I am enjoying the views of Ben Mor Coigach. When we got back to the car I left Maeve there and had a wander along the beach myself. I gathered a few bits and bobs as I walked and made little beachcombed collages on the big pebbles.

We drove back into Ullapool village late morning and I parked by the school and went in to see Eleanor's exhibition of paintings in the MacPhail Centre. Big paintings. Really good! We drove back to the house and we went round to Ceard so out friend Jan's business partner could meet Maeve :-)

After lunch I decided that Maeve might like an afternoon in the sun in the garden, so I let her out and I got my bag of art things and laid out some paints and had an hour or two in the garden drawing and making two small paintings from the sketches I have been making of Ben Mor Coigach from Ardmair. I used watercolours and gouache/watercolours then applied details in ink. I'll be going up to Bridge House Art earlier today as Eleanor invited me to come and hear a talk by another artist Kitty Jones who is artist in residence at Bridge House Art for the next few weeks.

Extras: Isle Martin,  Stone towers Ardmair beach, Ardmair Beachcombing III, IV, V, VI.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.