Ben Mor Coigach ... again, with no apologies.

Very heavy rain late yesterday afternoon, with thunder and lightning. The rain continued all yesterday evening and overnight. The weather forecast was better for today but it was still drizzling when I dropped Apothecary7 off at Bridge House Art just after 9am. I hoped it would clear, and with that in mind set off with Maeve the Deerhound to drive back along Loch Broom then cross over at the head of the loch to explore the village of Letters where I had never been. I enjoyed the drive and what views I could get across the loch but the weather didn't clear until we were back in Ullapool. Before lunch Maeve and I had a good walk round Ullapool and I took a series of B&W shots of various buildings round the village. A photo essay of Ullapool if you will. We got caught in one shower but were dried off by the breeze by the time we went back to the house for lunch.

After lunch we went North to Ardmair, stopping on the way so I could get a picture of the view of the road North with Ben Mor Coigach in the background. We have a painting of the mountain and hills leading with the road and having stopped to take a picture I'm sure this was the viewpoint used by the artist (who we have met at An Talla Solais in Ullapool).

When we got to Ardmair it was much brighter. I got my sketchbook and pencil box and made a couple of sketches of the mountain. I also thought I'd like to make a sketch from round at the pier so Maeve and I walked round and I sat on a rock and made another drawing to which I added some lines in ink. Maeve stood beside me while I sketched. There were midges. We wandered back to the car where there was more breeze so we could have all the windows down. I read my book for a while, listened to the waves breaking on the pebble beach, and enjoyed the views of Isle Martin, Ben Mor Coigarch, out to sea, and the sumer isles. It was maybe 4.30pm when we got back to the house today. I'll wait until 5 before I go to collect Apothecary7. I hope the painters didn't get caught in too many showers today ... they were scheduled to be out at Rhue today. I am thinking of going to Rhue tomorrow.

Extra: The North road and Ben Mor Coigach

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.