Davaar Island from the Old Shipyard (...or Dreich)

15.0C With rain most of the day. Few spells when the rain went off, although there were spells of smir rather than rain. Wind to 24 mph with gusts to 37 mph through the night, then 22 mph with gusts to 29 mph through the morning. Moderate breeze later. Wind constant Westerly.
Pressure constant at 1017 hPa
Visibility Poor or Moderate.
Humidity 97 to 100%
CalMac has cancelled the ferry this evening and tomorrow morning citing high winds forecast.

After lunch Maeve the Deerhound and I went for the repeat of our usual morning walking route across the road and round to the park and the harbour and back along through town. It was as dry as it has been all day.

Once Maeve was back home and settled I went back out. Runrig (Searchlight) on the iPod Mini. I went across the road and through the park then walked out Low Askomill to the old shipyard. It was mostly smir. When I got to the shipyard the rain was heavier. I sheltered by a tree until I could see the rain was lighter then I went over to the edge of the slope that drops away to the pebble beach at the start of the North shore path. I took this shot. More or less straight mono, very little processing. It would be fair to say it was dreich.

I decided not to walk further out on the path. Just as well. I got a real soaking on the way back. Rain blown straight into me on the breeze. I am very glad I took Maeve home before starting off. Just as well I had taken the precaution of wearing my waterproof jacket and trousers and walking shoes. My fleece hat was soaking and since I got home I have mopped up puddles from the slate tile floor in the kitchen from where my jacket and trousers are dripping. Oh well, at least I got in some sort of walk today. We had the heating on yesterday evening and this morning. First time since early May. I'll need it this evening to dry everything properly.

Since I got home there has been a dry(ish) spell, no doubt the one I was aiming for from the forecast I had checked at lunchtime. I have checked the Met Office web site's observations map this afternoon and sure enough a band of fairly heavy rain crossed South Kintyre when I was out.

Afternoon music ... Thin Lizzy, Jailbreak. Gerry Rafferty, Baker Street.

E-PL5 f/7.1 1/320 sec. ISO-200 14mm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.