Watching the Kids

I'm pretty sure this is the mother or father of the two young crows that have recently arrived on the deck. They are still fluffy with some of their early feathers and I expect they recently fledged. I took this photo through the kitchen window. It was a play day for the birds today. I saw six female Black Headed Grosbeaks all partaking of the food. I've never seen that many at one time before. The crows and starlings were having a good time in the watering hole. I think water may be getting scarcer for them as all the birds are hanging out on the bird bath much more than they used to.

Arvin is at the Alzheimer's Society of Washington Staying Connected today. He calls it his "little group" which it is in comparison with Adult Day Health. The folks in the ASW group are the ones we've been socializing with. In fact we plan to join them at Elizabeth Park for a picnic tomorrow evening. There is live music to listen to and a park to walk and play in. The ASW group is settled in a corner away from the band. We'll still be able to hear them and we'll be able to have conversations without having to shout. 

Today I would normally be painting but Trish is down at Menucha teaching pastels for the week at Creative Arts Community at Menucha. I miss being there but right now it is just too hard to get away for a week on my own. I am sure I will get back one of these years but this isn't the year.

I'm having a good time catching up on some photos and doing the wash. Helen and I were planning to paint together but that didn't materialize. I don't mind though as I've got lots of stuff I want to do. 

I am posting some of the photos I took yesterday here in the extra photos section. They include the Virginia Rail I saw yesterday, and the big beaver eating lily pads.

Have a great day everybody. Still not doing much commenting because I just don't have enough free time lately. So I squeeze them in when I can but not often. I appreciate that you all still stop by.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.