From the moth trap....

I ran my trap last night in the pouring rain, knowing the weather about to arrive is going to be foul, and my chances of running it over the next few days would be very limited.
For some unknown reason, the moths were very flighty, and I lost several out of the trap before I could bag them, and what was in the trap was pretty uninspired too!
As I was putting the trap away I noticed this Thorn moth sitting in the greenery above where the trap was placed, it was in a difficult to reach position, but in the end I thought I would catch it as thorns are nice to photograph.
Well, I am so glad I did as it was one of my favourite moths the Canary -shouldered Thorn Ennomos alniaria.
I love the bright canary yellow fur on the thorax which gives it it's common name, and his grumpy little face.
It is a common moth, and I have caught it before, I do hope I manage to catch a few more this season.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.