Very nice indeed!

I had a lovely day today mooching around Southwater woods, and Southwater CP.
It was slow to start due to the dull weather and wet undergrowth but as the sun started to come out, so did the insects!
In the end I had at least 5 different things I could have blipped - including 3 different crickets! such a difficult decision to make, but I erred on the side of blipping the thing I felt I was less likely to find to blip again.
So today's offering is the hover fly Rhingia rostrata
Rhingia rostrata is very similar in appearance to the much more common Rhingia campestris, but it is slightly smaller, the thorax is more a steely grey colour and the more brightly coloured abdomen has no black edging.

It is found mainly in woodland, and though once very rare (RDB2) it is now listed as Nationally scarce (Notable) and around here at least seems to be locally common (I found at least 5 today).
After I got home, I made some yummy veg soup and cheese scones...perfect end to a great day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.