Lady in red.....

luckily wasn't dancing with me cheek to cheek!!
I went to Iping common today to do a quick survey of the many species of grasshopper that live there.
I have discovered if you catch then in a little pot, invert it on my hand then slowly remove it the grasshopper will stay on my hand long enough for me to take a few half decent shots...which helps as grasshopper / cricket id seems to be a worse minefield then most things!
I managed to photograph. Woodland grasshopper, mottled grasshopper, meadow grasshopper, Field grasshopper and Bog bush cricket not to mention the unidentified ones! so I was really pleased.
I thought I would blip one of the grasshoppers, but on the way out I spotted this beautiful spider.
This spider is a red form of the common 4 spot orb weaver (Araneus quadratus) , which is found in rough grassland from June to October throughout the UK.
females (and this is a female) can be p to 15mm, and come in a variety of colours from green to brown, but personally I think this red form is not only unusual, but also most spectacular.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.