The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Just HUGE!!!!!

My Husband and I decided to go back to Malling down (near Lewis) today to see if I could get a better shot of the silver spotted skippers as the last time I accidently had my camera on the wrong setting and they were quite grainy.
Last time we went we got hopelessly lost, and this time wasn't a lot better, even though I could see where I wanted to be, there were steep sheer drops between me and my chosen destination! In the end we decided to sit down for a bit it's hard work climbing steep hills, especially when my husband knows where he's going!! I was about to sit down when I noticed this huge cricket sitting on some ragwort right next to me!
I knew at once what she was, as I saw the nymphs last year in Ventnor IOW, but I had never seen a full grown adult.
so, Today's offering is a n adult female Great Green Bush Cricket! (Tettigonia viridissima) according to the net it is the largest insect ( Females , like this one reaching 50mm in length + a 25mm ovipositor ) found in England , and can only be found in rough grassland in limited areas in the south between July and October.
I had to catch her on my hat as she was disappearing in the grass ( despite her size) and I really wanted a decent photo shoot with her.
I though she was amazing, not sure my husband agreed!!! Hope you like her too, I will try to blip a few more grasshoppers/crickets over the next few weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.