The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Such a velvety, beauty

I set off after lunch, intent on finding something to Blip for today, however unlike recent days it turned out to be quite difficult.
Trundling around Southwater country park I was saddened as to how far the season is marching on, the grasses are all over and bleached brown, the thistles finished flowering with thistledown drifting in the wind and the beautiful bramble flowers now ripening blackberries ..........
Aside from this it was really windy as well which is never good. I did see and 3 more clouded yellows, numerous whites, a common blue, small copper and this beautiful Small tortoiseshell (Aglias urticae).
I chose this as today's blip, as it really shows the sumptuous velvety colouring on the wings, and for the fact that as a child we had a large purple buddleia tree in our garden which was alive with these beautiful butterflies every summer. Between then and now it became quite uncommon, and some years I only saw one or two, but this year I have seen loads!!! I really hope it is on the increase again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.