Sammy

I met the loveliest group of people today, as I started my portrait project for the non-profit that provides resources for the aging in D.C.

Sammy is one of 10 residents in a group home for the elderly in Ward 5, an underserved and somewhat forgotten area of Washington that has not yet been gentrified and taken over by hipsters. That means the neighborhood has character and so do its residents :)  I chose to feature Sammy first because his intensity reminded my of my own grandfather. You'll get to meet some of the others over the next few days (yes, I know: I'm breaking blip rules...)

They had been informed of my visit and all but two of the residents agreed to participate in the project. By the time I arrived, they were ready for me -- some a bit shy and retiring, others just full of verve. One gent had gone out and bought a new suit for the occasion (see extra) and cut a rather glam figure. Each of them was totally endearing :)  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.