Henrietta and the Berries

Dear Diary,

This is my first portrait of little Henrietta Hummer this year.  She has been very elusive.  I just happened to be standing on the back porch when she landed in the crab apple tree for a brief moment.  Then she was off on her rounds.  I love how she is framed by the berries.  The tree is absolutely loaded this year.  The birds love them in the fall.  This variety doesn't get much larger than this and they don't fall off, remaining on the branches for an autumn treat for my feathered friends.

And since I am in the formal portrait mode, I've added one of Philomena in the rare moment she isn't stuffing her cheeks with seeds!  Time for a little wash up!  Everything got a good wash up on Tuesday with all the rain we got and now the world seems fresh and revitalized.  The air seems cleaner too and it is just a joy to be alive today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.