Moments in time

By Ali_tkdgirl

Throw back Thursday

So I noticed yesterday that Kangazu is hosting a Throwback Thursday challenge, so I thought I would take part.

This photo is very special to me. I took it originally back in 2011. I had started learning German in 2009 and in 2010, I was told that the lessons were stopping. A fellow classmate said I should get a penpal. After looking online I found a site called mylanguageexchange.com and it seemed perfect for me. Well it was, as it was then in 2010 that I started corresponding with Chrissel. We started emailing and soon became good friends, emailing everyday. In 2011 a year after our first email, I plucked up the courage to go and visit Chrissel and her family and stay with them for a long weekend. My work colleague at the time thought it was stupid as she might be an axe murderer!  As soon as we met at the airport, it was like we had know each other all our lives and our friendship was cemented. I was welcomed into the family with open arms, and really felt like I belonged there. On one of our trips we walked up a mountain, talking all the way, and at the top, there was a stunning view, and I saw this little bird eating berries. It was only later when I saw it on the computer that I realised it was a crossbill. 

This photo always reminds me of that first meeting, it holds such special memories, and the village where Chrissel lives has become one of my favourite places. I have dreams of moving there in the future. Thank you Chrissel for making that day so special and for being my best friend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.