My Year in Pictures

By jenny

I take it all back

Up until 3 months ago I couldn't get my head around all the paraphernalia, and time, that was involved with cycling.

If James needed a new something or other I couldn't understand why x top* was different to y top - they definitely looked the same to me - and I certainly could never understand how much time could be spent at the bike shop, particularly for things like "they're just checking my gears". 

However over the last few weeks I am beginning to understand part of the cycling world a wee bit more. 

That there are different layering combinations of clothes that will become increasingly important as it gets colder/wetter - I went out the other morning and had really cold arms whilst everything else was warm so need to figure out how to fix that.

That a lot of drivers are really not very cycle aware and can scare the pants off me at times.

That a Garmin that's just for me rather than borrowing James' all the time would be useful.

And that, despite the trepidation they fill me with, I'm seriously contemplating clip-in's as my feet are sliding off the pedals when it's wet or bouncing off them when I'm on some of my off road routes.

And then today I experienced the "just getting my gears fixed" phenomenon in all it's glory!

Things were still not quite right after Tuesday so back to Andrew to see what could be done. Three hours after I left the house I got back home!!! 

A bit of a tricky fault to identify as it turns out my cables are shredded (sure that's the technical term!) which is most unusual in such a new bike. Anyway new cables fitted and fingers crossed all will be well tomorrow.

I definitely take it all back James!

And whilst this image has absolutely nothing to do with cycling it's all I had the energy/time for when I got back home!!!



* interchangeable with anything that involves spending money associated with cycling!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.