FlowerFriday14

I'm pretty sure that these are weeds, but it's flowers are so pretty! My neighbor has these growing in profusion around his fence along the back of his yard & from a distance you just see these lovely purple shapes. When I went closer to take some pics though, they're so amazing. They start out as rounded "balls" that almost look like they'll ripen into berries, but then they start to elongate & out comes the yellow stamen with the petals all folded up. When the petals are up, you can see tiny little green dots all around the base of them (see extra pic), & gradually the petals start to come down until there's a 5 petal, star shaped bloom. I tried to find it's name online, but all I found was another person who'd posted a picture of it & was wondering what it was. Maybe one of you can recognize it & put a name to it!  Weed or not, it's really a little beauty--the blooms are about a half inch long, if that!
I have to work a late shift tonight & am sincerely hoping I'm not there until midnight--- so I  won't be commenting much today, but I'll catch up tomorrow. TGIF!!  :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.