FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Rally the Troops!

Today was the final preparation day for Headcorn Aerodrome's annual air show Combined Ops military vehicle and vintage aircraft event.

Exhibitors, suppliers and re-enactors have been setting up camp across the airfield over the past week and this afternoon as I walked across the showground I felt that pre-event buzz where all is calm before the thousands of visitors pile into the historic airfield site tomorrow.

Over 5,000 tickets sold in advance and the same number expected on the gate tomorrow due to the Vulcan display so it should make for a busy day.

After updating commentary notes in the flying club this afternoon, which took rather longer than necessary due to lots of chat with friends, I met with fellow airfield friends and colleagues for the air show briefing.

Everyone pulls together to prepare for the show from the display pilots to the air ground radio team to the aerodrome owner to the fire crews to the airfield employees manning the gates to the museum staff taking visitors back in time.

Then there's the airfield Wings Bar keeping us all fed and watered (with beer) after the show. It's a close knit aviation community of which I am proud to play a small part.

Tomorrow will be my fourth year commentating this show in some capacity. I just hope I don't lose my voice as my throat is very sore today!

NB - This tank Lucy Sue featured in the Brad Pitt film Fury.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.