FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Words, words, words

On a day when I spent much of my working day writing up project notes for clients in the world of meetings, associations, events and business travel, I took a brief respite at lunchtime in Waterstones to choose a birthday card for a dear friend amongst all the wonderful books.

There's something about literature and book shops that make me feel instantly calm, nostalgic and pensive. I so longed to be able to flick through some of the books on display and then pull up a chair to escape into another world.

I mentally noted several books I must look up on a day when I have more time to browse. I must book a couple of days leave soon and escape to the coast to just sit and read. I've got a lovely collection of books begging to be read alas the current pace of my life prevents them from being touched.

This evening I put together the majority of my commentary notes for this weekend's air show. Three hours, 23 pages and 6983 words later and most of the prep is done.

Like anyone that performs, whether it be an actor on stage, a musician at a show, a conductor at a concert, my notes are there almost as a safety blanket but in reality most of what I'll say will come from memory and the heart. I feel the words through my soul as other performers might feel the music through their blood.

I try to communicate the emotion and passion I feel for aviation in my commentary and appreciation for engineering as well as some light hearted humour. I hope that the audience, if they're listening at all, feels the emotion too and is entertained.

Most of all I'm entertaining myself with my comments and observations and if just one person is touched by my words then I'll know I've done a good job.

Final prep tomorrow along with a press conference for a Battle of Britain Memorial event and the air show pilot and crew briefing early evening. All we need now is the weather to improve....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.