horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Drained

I wasn't actually drinking Deuchars. It's not bad stuff, but there was Hobgoblin and Black Sheep on tap which tickled my fancy more, and I was definitely in need of it. Tis the Sheep Heid, in Duddingston Village - effectively my local at only about 20 minutes walk away, and Wednesday night is always quiz night.

We normally do quite well, with a fine line in 2nd and 3rd places, though we've taken top spot a few times. Not bad going when only three of us turn up regularly, and there are usually 10-12 teams. Quieter this time round, most people probably off watching little bombs being let off in the sky, but we had a couple of absolutely schocking rounds and only came 3rd (about 6 points behind the winners).

Still, it was a laugh I needed to ease off with the next day promising to be a busy one what with getting the next issue of my website online, dealing with the boss without his PA in the office and picking up the new O2 router for the grand switchover from BT tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.