Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Arc of Cloud

As normal, woke before sunrise.  Today I didn't have to go to the supermarket and having been with Mom for a few hours last night I didn't have the usual visit to her either.  I took a walk down Hobble End, found the wheat field still unharvested and then waited for the sun to appear.  It didn't, at least for the 90 minutes I was there.  It was only then I noticed how the bands of cloud were arcing across the sky.

Technical: (Deep intake of breath) A 6 shot panoramic stitch, but even before that bracketed (0 ev and -2 ev).  This was because I forgot my Lee Filters (Doh!).  For the first time I used Photo Merge in Lightroom CC 2015.  It worked very well for the HDR, less so for the panorama.  Once I'd completed the HDR merge I took them into Photoshop and allowed an auto panoramic stitch.  Finally after a few tweaks of levels and curves converted to B&W using Silver Efex Pro.  Slight toning finished it off.


(Time taken photographing; 90 minutes - time taken processing and posting 120 minutes, though I also processed another 10 images).



I've posted some other images, including the original colour (I was torn as to which I should post).  I just liked the graphic nature of the image and as that had been what I saw in the field before shooting, it won out).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.