Review

Year after year I’ve passed by here
without ever calling in for a beer
let alone a hot meal.


I don’t now feel this will become
my favourite pub
but the food is good


and the pint of Jennings Cumberland
Ale went down a treat.
So, what did we eat?


I had lamb shank (not as succulent
as at my usual place but fine) with mash 
and assorted  vegetables. I meant


to test their desserts but was too
stuffed. My companion plumped for
Cottage Pie


and half a Guinness. Though why
they thought it appropriate
to add a service charge


I’ll never know. Food was ordered
at the bar. All they had to do
was deliver it


and enquire as to whether
we required any sauces.

They score… 6 out of 10.

And my tip to them:
don’t expect a tip. And turn

that awful music down.

(No one wants to listen
to Lady In Red while they’re eating.

Nor at any other time).

Red, Red, Red

How to become a food critic

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.