"Jelly on Sunday"

That's what BBC 1's early weather forecast said - according to the subtitles: "Jelly on Sunday, but plenty of sun today!" Well, I can tell you it was jelly enough this morning for me to need to put on a cardie. It's a lot sunnier this afternoon, which was good news for our village show.

My baking entries that I blipped yesterday took no prizes (although we've been enjoying them!) but I did win three firsts and two thirds in the show. My sweet peas came first, as did my limerick about Strete village (which I share below) and my photograph in the class titled "Summer is Here". If you click on that link, you can see the photo as it's one I blipped last summer. 

My third prizes came for my decorated flower pot and my origami mice (a novel use for old newspaper). It's a fun event, bringing villagers together, and received the biggest ever number of entries this year, which is gratifying for the hard-working organisers.

So, for your entertainment, here's my winning limerick:

Some grockles* arrived in a swarm,
Thinking Strete would be sunny and warm.
When a sea fog descended
They buzzed off, offended,
Insisting the mist was a storm.

© Celia Warren 2015  
*grockles: a mildly derogatory term for visitors as applied by West Country locals

I shall now put my trumpet away. Hope you're having a good weekend and that your weather is not too jelly chilly! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.