TOPSY.TURVY FLY

The summer stays on and on. And it rained suddenly too, for a short time.
And again Piet Hein and I did start our walk in the afternoon.
We decided to walk along the Diemel. A great idea. We did not walk on the path, but in the grass of the `Aue` the large meadow along the river.
At some moment very dark clouds above the hills appeared and since we knew there is shelter hut along the path, we climbed a bit, found the hut, but then the clouds had dissolved already and we descended to the river again.
So strange I thought, when I saw the banded damselflies above the water. For such a long time I had wanted to find these insects and now there is hardly a day that I do not see several.

My haiku:

Don´t let me disturb
You, dear fly, but is it wise
To hang on topsy-turvy

And the proverb

Out of the world and into Kippen.

1862 Hyslop.

Kippen, in Sirlingshire, was formerly so very remote and very little frequented by strangers, that a visit to it was jocularly deemed equivalent to going out of the world althogether.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.