My Life With Luna

By chrisA

Marstal Maersk and Ferry

I had to pick up my new glasses from Felixstowe this morning so after I'd finished in town I went to the viewing area at the Port of Felixstowe.  
The Marstal Maersk had just arrived on the new deep water berth and as I was taking photographs of it the little foot ferry left Felixstowe bound for Harwich.   The ferry looks like a child's toy floating in the water against the container vessel.
Information:  The Marstal Maersk if one of the Triple E Class Container vessels and are the largest ships ever built by cargo volume including their above deck containers and the largest currently in service by length, 400 meters (1312 feet and fractionally short of a quarter of a mile) in length.
Triple E is derived from the class's three design principles 'Economy of Scale, Energy Efficient and Environmentally Improved'.     These ships are expected to be not only the worlds longest in service but also the most efficient container ship per TEU (twenty equal units - containers) of cargo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.