At last.

I've been trying, for lo these many moons, to catch a "half-waxed Starky".
As juveniles they are uniformly drab.
As adults they are/can be quite splendiferous if caught in the right light. I've  seen a few obviously manipulated beyond all recognition until you'd swear they were a glamorous tropical exhibit.
Then there's this half-way stage, when they look like yet a third species, with the uniformity of youth and the " negativised" Dalmatian flanks of an adult. By another serendipitous fluke there's an adult hard by for comparison - of sorts.

I chucked in a bonus, just as a record for me. I couldn't display the whole spike to suit me, but I can at least boast the size of the flower(s). This ie the one which, unusually for me went mad with three simultaneous Spikes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.